Everytime

Everytime I think I got it, I don’t…

When I look you in your face and tell you I love you and you don’t accept it.

Everytime I think I got it, I don’t…

When I warn a friend, but she won’t listen. She drowns in the puddles of her own making.

Everytime I think I got it, I don’t…

I fail at the pen; the inkwell has run dry, no strokes of magic here.

Everytime I think I got it, I don’t…

Dad returned after many decades, but it’s been more bitter than sweet.

Everytime I think I got it, I don’t…

I can’t and won’t depend on wavering ideals tossed to and fro by the waves of life. You are unstable, inefficient, untrustworthy and habitually deaf.

I got you, every time I think.

© privatethoughtsmadepublic. 2017.

Leave a Reply

