My Thanks and Wrap-Up

2016 has been a trying year, heck what year hasn’t been? But this year was special because I graduated with an AA in May. I had planned for it to go well, but of course, it didn’t nor did the day after. So many negative people and their words assaulted me without cause. I literally was getting static from people I know and that’s sad but not surprising. Whenever you’re trying to take steps forward there’s always something or someone ready to knock you down a peg or two. But per usual, I had to take the high road…it wasn’t easy all the time, but I did it. I really couldn’t allow words and accusations to hinder my growth, so I kept moving. But there was one highlight within the many storms brewing in my life, just when I was about to cut the cord on my blog, not because I really wanted to (I was out of my mind in that moment) but because I just didn’t want any attachment to anything someone could comment on and there was the fact that I thought my work wasn’t good enough. Funny how life happens unexpectedly…just when I was to shut down my blog, a young man named Chris came along (he was new to WordPress and I have no idea how he found my blog out of the hundreds and thousands of blogs) and told me not to be a waste of talent. Yep, those were his exact words. His words gave me a kick in the butt and got me going again and I’m grateful for him. Ya know, just when we’re ready to give up, Jesus sends someone our way when we really need it. It was no coincidence Chris showed up, right on time.

Funny how life happens unexpectedly…just when I was to shut down my blog, a young man named Chris came along (he was new to WordPress and I have no idea how he found my blog out of the hundreds and thousands of blogs) and told me not to be a waste of talent. Yep, those were his exact words. His words gave me a kick in the butt and got me going again and I’m grateful for him. Ya know, just when we’re ready to give up, Jesus sends someone our way when we really need it. It was no coincidence Chris showed up, right on time. Yall, I didn’t have any of my work backed up and nearly seven years of writing would have been lost forever. I shudder thinking about it…oh the insanity! So, if I’m grateful for anything concerning my writing, I’m grateful to him for stopping me from doing something stupid. Like pressing the DELETE button. I’m like Opinionated Man a.k.a HarshReality (also a WordPress blogger) the delete button shouldn’t be available because we all have our crazy moments, frustrating moments when we just want to clear things out and possibly start over.

As far as my life is concerned, I’m just happy and appreciative that I’ve been allowed to make it through this year, problems or not. People say life ain’t easy, but it’s people who are thorns in our sides. They make life harder than it has to be and my goal has been to bring the sunshine and encouragement to those around me. I make sure to call or email as often as I can to check up on my friends and family, to let them know I care. In 32 years, I’ve learned a lot, and very little surprises me but I hope the incoming year blows my mind. I need a reprieve from the boredom Ā I feel on a daily basis. People can be so….basic and completely predictable. So, here’s to a fresh start and more writing and perhaps I’ll be around to revising my book. Thank you to everyone who has supported my this blog, I hope you’ve taken something away from my words!

*And no, we will not be having that awkward Christmas dinner that everyone dreads. It takes way too much energy to sit around people who don’t like you…thank God we cut the cord on that many years ago. Have a Merry Christmas and safe New Year!

 

5 thoughts on “My Thanks and Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

