Let’s Watch the Stars Together

What can I say that I’ve not already said? Contrary to your belief, I actually have feelings. What I will admit is, I didn’t expect to get as close to you as I have. I really had no idea where we were going, if anywhere. What I’ve come to realize in the short amount of time we’ve known each other is I need you to keep breathing because I want to be able to rest my head on your shoulder, or put my ear against your chest and listen to your heart beating. I want to be able to cook a meal for you, and stare you in the eye until one of us burst out in laughter. I would probably be the first to break.

I’d like to be by your side when you’re having a hard day and encourage you to keep going. Pain doesn’t last forever. I want to see you grow into a better man and inspire young men to reach for the stars. Who better to listen to than you, a man who has lived through such a rough and tumble life? I need you to keep breathing because if you’re not, I can’t do any of those aforementioned things without you. I’m waiting for you to get what you need so we can move on with life and friendship. I have my hand out for you to take; let’s walk down the yellow brick road to see what we might find. Anything has to be better than what we have now, right?

The way I see it, there’s nowhere to go but up from now on. You have me, I’m not going anywhere. We’ll support each other along the way and as promised, I’ll even help you write your book. Sometimes  when we talk, silence is enough to make me happy. No matter what life has thrown at you, I’m happy and grateful that you’re still here, that you didn’t give up though I’m sure many times you’ve felt like it. Just remember what you said to me, and I quote, “we gon’ get that money hand over fist, hand over fist.” I laugh every single time I think about that.

Not only do I have your back, I have your best interest at heart. Out of hundreds of thousands of people, you found me, here. It’s definitely no coincidence. So, thank you for finding me. You’ve been a breath of fresh air when it comes to honesty. You’ve hurt my feelings but that still doesn’t deter me from communicating with you. Honesty is what I asked for and honesty is what I got and I can’t be mad at you for that. We’re still learning each other and thank God for it, otherwise, I’d get bored and wander off. One thing I can say about you that works in your favor is that you definitely keep me guessing. I appreciate you being who you are, good, bad or ugly. You’re still my friend nonetheless. I have a lot of faith in you and am confident you will turn out just fine. I think the world of you and wish you could see what I see in you. I’ve got all four of my eyes on you so just know I’ve got your back.

-Your Angel-

17 thoughts on “Let’s Watch the Stars Together

Leave a Reply

