Journal Entry #19

After making it home from campus, I decided that today would be a good day to take a walk. So that’s what I did, with my camera in one hand and a cup of hot chocolate in the other. My first stop was to a neighborhood park that I frequent. In between sips of chocolatey goodness, there were sprinkles of painters about the park. Some were tucked away just up a hill next to half-naked trees. They have to be a community of painters because they seemed like they knew one another. Most of their painting were rightly of Autumn. At a distance, a lone female looked to be finger painting-I almost wanted to join her. I had a good mind to walk up to all those painters and ask to take a photograph of their paintings.

As I was walking along, I snapped a photo of a tree that captured my attention. The tree is going through the process of death or dormancy all in one shot! It’s amazing how life and death are never far from each other. Opposite sides of the same coin.

I also saw this woman with her dog, it looked to be a Huskie, yanking it by its collar on the leash. I’d rather see a dog with one of those full body leashes. I saw this sign and thought, hmmm….. four-legged or two?

Leaving the park, I walked to a local art museum. It’s amazing that I’ve grown up in the same spot yet never bothered to explore what’s been around me. The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art has a couple of sculptures displayed and some cool one that represented the four seasons. 

It’s too bad I can’t create something like this. I can draw, certainly, but to make something on this scale-no way! I plan to attend future exhibitions when it warms up again. I realize I don’t really have a connection with my community and I need to meet as many people as I can. I may even get the opportunity to interview them.

I’m sorry I didn’t take many shots, I just wanted to take in my surroundings. There were squirrels galore everywhere that I went. I even saw some berry plants that I haven’t seen since I was a child! I didn’t even think they existed anymore. Times really have changed. There are buildings on every corner! Sometimes I wonder what nature would look like in its natural state without human interference. Are there some untouched places left in the world that humans haven’t made their imprint on?

The final shots are of other sculptures and a squirrel, take a gander.

If you read the info in the first photo, could you imagine being shoved in a corner and forgotten, as if you had no use? I don’t have to imagine, I’ve been in that spot plenty of times. The whole thing is just sad really. The empty coat…hollow and creepy with a splash of loneliness.

Leave a Reply

