Eat or Go to Bed Hungry

I’m really annoyed. Why? Read this… A New Approach to Curing Picky Eaters

So here’s the thing, when I was growing up, my mother didn’t give us food options. Technically, the only option when she cooked for us was to eat our dinner or go to bed hungry. Now, I can understand a child with food allergies and the like, but handing over all the power to a kid is dangerous. The only time my sisters and I got options was when my mother was unusually happy, and the other option was when we got a job and helped with the bills. Those were the only options we had. It’s amazing the options/choices parents give their kids. I literally see kids telling their parents what to do and when to do it! Seriously? I wish I would have pulled that with my mother (sarcasm).

Most kids are just handed everything, especially American children. Why does a five-year old need and laptop or phone, do they have jobs, are they paying any bills? Whatever happened to making a kid work for what he/she wants? Nothing in life is free, nor will kids have the understanding of being really appreciative until they’ve gotten out there on their own and worked for what they want. I’d like to think myself appreciative as a kid/teenager, but once I got my first job and paycheck, reality hit quick. I remember looking at my mom in the mall and asked, why is everything so expensive? She laughed and said welcome to the real world kid. I tried to tell you.

Such a small thing as not wanting to eat what’s in front of you can lead to some really bad habits later. When we get jobs, everything isn’t on our terms, we have to work for EVERYTHING that we get and then some. It’s really scary to see how out of control and spoiled kids are these days. I see it at my college, grown folks acting like professors should bow down to them, give them special privilege. I look at a lot of these college kids and shake my head and think to myself, their parents did them and society a grave injustice. No one should have to put up with that kind of attitude, like the world owes them something. You may think I’m making a mountain out of a molehill, but I see this behavior on a day-to-day basis and it’s taking a toll on everyone around them.

Leave a Reply

