What We Do Matters!

Good evening ladies and gentlemen! I hope you all have been well. I have something amazing to share. For the past four weeks I’ve been co-teaching a class at my college. It’s my job, that’s what I do. Sometimes I wondered if I was making a difference in my fellow students’ life. Two weeks ago, there was a student who was about to give up, mind you, this is only a four-week course. Her problem was first, she was overwhelmed with taking three classes and didn’t know how to manage the workload, secondly, she dislikes speaking in public. I don’t like giving presentations either, and I’m still feel nervous when I’m teaching a class. However, that is my job and I’m expected to do it to the best of my ability. So, she shows up in my office to discuss with me about her problems. I listen and give her advice and showed her around campus. Majority of her work is submitted online and I had to show her how to do that, and a host of other things. I’m proud to say, after sharing with her my shortcomings, and keeping tabs on her, pushing her towards the finish line, she finally completed he class! To top it all off, after presentations Saturday, I was given a basket of goodies! What!!!! I said, whaaaaa?! I was absolutely blown away. I was more shocked to know that my work actually penetrated the minds of these students! I kept tabs on each one of them by emailing and during my office hours. It really makes me feel good when students persevere through tough classes. So, all the hard work that we put in matters, even when it looks like all hope is lost. What we do matters! Now I’m going to ready myself for bed, I have a Chemistry exam tomorrow. I’m nervous about it because I’m not a good test taker and I’m waiting for the results from my Math test from Friday. I hope to see a decent grade. Until next time…be safe.

Leave a Reply

