Christmas, Not So Merry

12/25/2014

This was me, afternoon, on Christmas. Happy, ready to celebrate, optimistic. We went to have dinner at our great aunt’s house like we’ve done every year. When we got there, everything was going well. People were filing in and jokes ensued. Next thing I knew literal fights broke out, people drudging up my mother’s past, even one of my older sisters went off on my off. She’d been drinking but still you don’t just embarrass your mother in a room full of people who don’t like her. It was a circus act yesterday and we will no longer spend any holiday will them. Besides, we have a boat load of women in my family. Where there’s women, there’s bound to be a problem. I sure hope you alls Christmas went well and you actually enjoyed one another’s company. Family…

Leave a Reply

