South Africans Oppressors?

Fist off let me be frank, this post is in no way meant to offend anyone. Now that that’s out-of-the-way, about an hour or so ago I was on YouTube watching videos and one video led to another and then another and so on. I ended up watching a clip of white South Africans complaining about reverse discrimination. As I soaked up everything that was being said, I just felt rather… intrigued. I’ve seen poor whites but nothing on the scale that I viewed in this video. There was a time where white South Africans ruled over blacks, which is no surprise, but when the tables were turned, unfortunately black South Africans treated the white South Africans like second class citizens. The whites couldn’t even get jobs! While I watched this video I was pulled in at least two different directions. One, as I pointedly watched this community of white, beat down, dreary faces, I can’t help but to feel sorry for them, and the unspoken bitterness that lingered in the air was just so sad to see. A black South African dweller was asked how she felt about this monumental shift, she said something on the lines of she thought it unbelievable, shocked, even that whites were going through this. She said that blacks were used to living a rather “low” life, if you will, but for whites, forcibly to be living the same way is just unbelievable. I almost couldn’t believe it myself. My thoughts were like, is this really happening? But then there’s this other side of me that was like, now there are whites on this earth that knows what its like to be oppressed by blacks! This other part of me kind of rejoiced in the fact that whites don’t rule in certain parts of the world, namely in South Africa. It was most refreshing to see, yet, I felt a twinge of guilt for my rejoicing and dirty thoughts. Even as I live and breathe and experience new things, one thing still remains the same, white people rule, and it’s the honest to God truth. We all know it! Everywhere you turn it’s white, white, white. I love white people, I love people in general, but there’s something about some of them, that they think they’re entitled to EVERYTHING, just rubs me the wrong way. When it comes down to it, no living soul should oppress another, not matter when you hail from, or what color you are. Right is right and wrong is wrong. Who are we(you) to impede on someone else’s progress? I know the Bible said “Do unto other’s as you would have them do unto you”, but this is ridiculous! Honestly that verse does not mean reign terror, or oppress a life! Society and hierarchies need to get it together, we all have to live on this planet together! We are a human family, so we ought to get used to one another, and help one another build up good relationships. Where I live, you live. Now I’ll let you all figure that one out.

Leave a Reply

